28.05.15 by Staff

Universal Everything’s Wondrous Projections on the Sydney Opera House

opera12

In collaboration with 22 animation studios from all over the world, Universal Everything has created a living mural for the Sydney Opera House. While adapting cutting-edge technologies, Universal Everything encouraged a creative process intent on capturing something everyone can relate to. The hand-drawn approach, in particular, sets it apart from the kind of projections usually commissioned to light up the iconic structure. See more images and video of the project below.

 

 

opera8

 

 

opera2

 

 

opera5

 

 

opera1

 

 

opera3

 

 

opera9

 

 

opera10

 

 

opera11

 

 

opera13

 

 

opera6

 

 

opera7

 

 

Animation Sequences:

01, Block: Universal Everything –
02, Burst: Patch d. Keyes – patchdkeyes.co.uk/
03, Fill: Drew Tyndell – drewtyndell.com/
04, Chase: Tymote – tymote.jp/
05, Multiply: Nicolas Ménard – nicolasmenard.com/
06, Climb: Parallel Teeth – parallelteeth.com/
07, Rise: KClogg – kclogg.tumblr.com/
08, Twist: Matt Scharenboich – mattscharenbroich.com/
09, Wind: Váscolo – vascolo.com.ar/
10, Swarm: Universal Everything
11, Calm: Zutto – zuttoworld.com/
12, Float: Cindy Suen – cindysuen.tumblr.com/
13, Power: Masanobu Hiraoka – vimeo.com/user6065152
14, Slide: Ori Toor – oritoor.com/
15, Spin: Ori Toor
16, Wave: Váscolo
17, Construct: DXMIQ – dxmiq.com/
18, Growth: DXMIQ
19, Flow: Ruff Mercy – ruffmercy.com/
20, Scatter: Caleb Wood – vimeo.com/calebwood
21, Shrink: Bee Grandinetti – behance.net/grandinetti
22, Noise: Takcom – takafumitsuchiya.com/
23, Attack: MixCode – mixcode.tv
24, Boom: nöbl – nobl.tv
25, Bounce: Matt Abbiss – abbiss.co/
26, Ricochet: Matt Frodsham – mattfrodsham.com/
27, Splash: Guille Comin – guillermocomin.com/
28, Bang: Universal Everything
29, Embrace: Matt Frodsham
30, Melt: Caleb Wood
31, Stripe: Matt Abbiss

 

 

Via It’s Nice That

Universal Everything’s Website













Staff
If you have work to share, please send us a tweet or post it to our monthly submission posts.



  • Ben Lockhart

    Beautiful! I feel like the shape of the building was underutilized a lot though.

    • Kimi

      The toucan one was great for that





18.08.17 by Staff

“Happy Breakfast” by Artist Gary Card

“Happy Breakfast” is a psychedelic zine by set designer and artist Gary Card. Filled with colourful and chaotic images that blur the line between cute and creepy, what began as a commission for Japanese magazine Them, has turned into something of an ongoing experiment thanks to London-based publishers Katie Bagley and Ferry Gouw of New World International. See more images below.

Read More

18.08.17 by Staff

Artist Spotlight: Kelly Bjork

Paintings by Seattle-based artist and illustrator Kelly Bjork (previously featured here). See more images below.

Read More

18.08.17 by Staff

Artist Spotlight: Rachael Jablo

Collages by artist Rachael Jablo, currently living and working in Berlin. Informed by the work of English botanist and photographer Anna Atkins, Jablo tears up photograms of flowers, piecing them back together to create new shapes and patterns. See more images from “Where are you going, where have you been?” below.

Read More

18.08.17 by Staff

Artist Spotlight: Ed Cheverton

A selection of playful work by Bristol-based artist and illustrator Ed Cheverton, including several animations based on some of his 3D toys! See more images below.

Read More

17.08.17 by Staff

Artist Spotlight: Daniel Bilmes

Paintings by Los Angeles-based artist Daniel Bilmes. See more images below.

Read More