Shok1 Brandon Shigeta
Art

POW! WOW! Hawaii 2018: Artist Roster

It’s my favourite time of year, POW! WOW! Hawaii is coming up. What was once a very small gathering of artists has grown to the point that this past year there were POW! WOW! festivals in Washington D.C., California, Massachusetts, Israel, Guam, Seoul, Kobe, and Taipei.

The Hawaii festival runs from February 10th-17th, in Honolulu. This year there are more than 50 local and international artists on the roster, and a good chunk of them are people I’ve never met before (which is always the best). One of those people is acclaimed contemporary artist Daniel Arsham, and I’ll be hosting a creative talk with him at Lana Lane Studios on Wednesday February 14th at 7pm (food and drinks provided by Olukai).

Other events throughout the week include an exhibition at the Honolulu Museum of Art, curated by Thinkspace, a print show with Detroit-based 1xRun, a b-boy battle hosted by UDEF, and a foot golf tournament with Kicks to the Pitch and Paradise Soccer Club. Check out the festival schedule here and be sure to follow along on their Instagram @powwowworldwide.

The image above was painted during last year’s festival by SHOK-1, photo by Brandon Shigeta.

Defer, photo by Jeff Hamada
Defer, photo by Jeff Hamada
Mural by Cinta Vidal, photo by Jasper Wong
Mural by Cinta Vidal, photo by Jasper Wong

VISITING ARTISTS

Bounce (@bounce1029) – Taiwan
Daniel Arsham (@danielarsham) – New York
Dulk (@dulk1) – Spain
Faile (@faileart) – New York
Horishow (@horishow) – Japan
Icy and Sot (@icyandsot) – Iran
James Bullough (@james_bullough) – Germany
Kelly Tunstall (@kellytunstall) – California
Laurence Vallieres (@laurenceval) – Montreal
Lauren YS (@lolo.ys) – California
OG Slick (@og_slick) – Hawaii/California
Ricky Watts (@rickywatts) – California
Royyal dog (@royyaldog) – South Korea
Sam Yong (@saminthewolf) – Australia
Sandra Chevrier (@sandrachevrier) – Montreal
Sean Chao (@seanchaochao) – California
Simone Legno (@simonelegno/@tokidokibrand) – Italy
SixCoin (@sixcoin_kr) – South Korea
Spenser Little (@spenserlittleart) – California
Sydney James (@sydneygjames) – Michigan
Tran Nguyen (@mynameistran) – Georgia
Woes (@woes) – Hawaii/California

Mural by Kevin Lyons, photo by Brandon Shigeta
Mural by Kevin Lyons, photo by Brandon Shigeta

LOCAL ARTISTS

7Sketches (@7sketches)
Asalt (@asalt_one)
Cme
Cory Taum (@kamehana_o_kala)
Devour
Gary Draws Fish (@garydrawsfish)
Gavin Murai (@reckonshop)
Gezu
Jasper Wong (@mrjasperwong)
Jeffrey Gress (@pro_gress)
Jesse Velasquez (@dakine.dak1ne)
Kahiau Beamer (@mungmonster)
Kai Kaulukukui (@artworkofkai)
Kamea Hadar (@kameahadar)
Kaplan Bunce (@kapache1)
Katch (@katch1)
Kate Wadsworth (@wadsworthink)
Kealakukui (@kealakukui_)
Kris Goto (@kgotoart)
Lucky Olelo (@luckyolelo)
Maek (@hydeclyde)
Nicole Naone (@nicoleforever)
Oera (@uglykid_o)
Prime (@808prime)
Puff (@pufftronic)
Retsy
Solomon Enos (@solomonenos)
Unomas (@unomaser)
Wooden Wave (@wooden_wave)

Related Articles